Student Employee of the Year Awards (SEOTY)

Student Employee of the Year 2017 graphic

The Student Employee of the Year (SEOTY) awards are national awards which recognise and promote the outstanding contributions and achievements of students who combine part-time work with their study commitments.

Student Employee of the Year is an annual competition coordinated at UAL by ArtsTemps, in collaboration with NASES (National Association of Student Employment Services). This is an institutional competition, but shortlisted applicants also have the opportunity to be nominated for the regional and the national award. Any UAL student or graduate can be nominated by their line manager.


  • Win an iPad Mini 4
  • Be recognised for all your hard work
  • Help you to secure future roles by having something substantial to add to your CV (in addition to your work experience)


Any student who is currently studying at UAL is eligible, whether you have worked at UAL (through Arts Temps, SUARTS, or directly) or have found employment for an external company/organisation outside of the University in the past year. Recent UAL graduates are eligible for the Graduate Excellence award.

How to get nominated

Ask your line manager (any employer/manager you have worked for in the last year) to complete the nomination form, stating which one of 4 categories they would like to nominate you. Four categories are the following:

Above and Beyond Award

This award recognises an outstanding student making a huge impact working in your organisation going above and beyond on a regular basis. 

Commercial Impact Award

This award recognises a student who has made a commercial impact to your business or organisation. 

Step up to leadership Award

This award recognises students who have demonstrated leadership skills taking responsibility for projects or departments etc.

Graduate Excellence

This is a UAL only category for our graduates who are working (not current students). Graduates cannot be put through to the regional and national level of this award.